News Flash

PE2 updates DOE

Re-organized PE2 policy committee ready to support IRR review

MAKATI CITY, 19 July 2019 – The Philippine Energy Efficiency Alliance (PE2) informed the Department of Energy (DOE) earlier today that PE2 has re-organized its Policy Committee and that it stands ready to support the ongoing review of the Draft Implementing Rules and Regulations (IRR) of Republic Act 11285, otherwise known as the Energy Efficiency and Conservation (EE&C) Act. The update was contained in an electronic message of PE2 president Alexander Ablaza to Director Cesar G. dela Fuente III of the DOE Energy Utilization Management Bureau (EUMB) and Division Chief Artemio P. Habitan of the DOE Energy Efficiency and Conservation Division (EECD), with copies to the Offices of Secretary Alfonso G. Cusi, Senior Undersecretary Jesus Cristino P. Posadas and Assistant Secretary Robert B. Uy.

Ablaza said , “The Philippine Energy Efficiency Alliance (PE2) was organized to serve as a non-profit, civil society partner of Government in advancing the common goal of accelerating the implementation of energy efficiency as an indigenous clean energy resource of the Philippine economy. To assist the ongoing draft IRR review process for RA 11285, PE2 is mobilizing today, 19 July 2019, its re-organized PE2 Policy Committee.”

PE2 shared with DOE the new composition of the PE2 Policy Committee:

PE2 Policy Committee

·        Alexander Ablaza, Chair (Lead for Incentives and Finance)     
·        Theresa Acedillo-Lapuz, Member (Lead for IAEECC/Government EE Projects)
·        Danilo B. Aquillo, Member (Co-Lead for Demand-Side Management)
·        Richard Henrick I. Beltran, Member (Lead, Committee Secretariat)   
·        Mark Anthony T. Delumen, Member (Co-Lead for Demand-Side Management)   
·        Bienvenido C. Gonzales, Member (Lead for Minimum Energy Performance/S&L)   
·        Raymond A. Marquez, Member (Lead for Certification/Accreditation - Individuals and ESCOs)
·        Maria Concepcion P. Simundac, Member (Lead for Legal Matters)   
·        Samuel West Stewart, Member (Lead for Designated Establishments)

The Alliance reported to DOE that, initially, two (2) sub-committees will be mobilized:
Sub-Committee for ESCO Certification

·        Raymond A. Marquez - Lead
·        Jose O. de Jesus
·        Ronaldo R. Torres
·        Richard A. Uy

Sub-Committee for IAEECC/Government EE Projects
·        Theresa Acedillo-Lapuz - Lead
·        Felix Richard A. Cordova
·        Jagannathan Srinivasan

 PE2 said that the restructured PE2 Policy Committee allows it to be more responsive to the DOE-EUMB Focus Groups that were created to review the draft IRR with stakeholders. The Alliance offered readiness to support the following DOE-EUMB Focus Groups:

·        Group A: Certification For Professional Competency and Accreditation for Professional Services
·        Group B: Energy Performance Standards and Labeling Requirements
·        Group C: Designated Establishments
·        Group D: Inter-Agency EE&C Committee
·        Group E: Demand-Side Management
·        Group G: Incentives
The PE2 Board of Trustees will discuss the next steps related to the IRR review and consultations.